Teach me to number my days…

“Lord, make me to know my end, And what is the measure of my days, That I may know how frail I am.  Indeed, You have made my days as handbreadths, And my age is nothing before You; Certainly every man at his best state is but vapor.”                       Psalm 39:5-6

As we were leaving the house this morning, Madi asks, “Mom, when is Aiden’s party?  Did I miss it?  It’s at the Skating Rink!”  Ugh!  The feeling of guilt overwhelms me.  Aiden’s party is next Saturday.  In addition to the Wedding AND Baby shower we have scheduled.  And did I mention the Bagelfest parade that Chloe is in- with the band, bagelfest contestants AND girl scouts?  Is it any wonder we were intrigued by the thought of cloning?

As a born procrastinator, God has really been working with me on how, and why, I am choosing to spend my time.  When I first accepted Christ, I remember Judy Davis always telling me to ask God , in prayer, to help me balance my life in His priority order.  Elizabeth George would say that we should always view our lives in the priority of good, better and best.  We all have hundreds of “good” ways to spend our time, but are the activities I have filled my life with the “best” things that God has for me.  My pride and ego would love to be all things to all people, but I am coming to a season in my life where I am working harder to become choosey about how and where I spend my time.  From sales calls at work to putting my favorite book down at home to spend time with my family.  The simple truth is that everytime I say “yes” to a commitment, I am saying “no” to something else.  So, when I am looking in terms of priorities, the question should not be, “What am I saying yes, too?”, but “What am I saying “no”, too?  What will the consequences of my decision be?

Over the past few weeks, I have dedicatedly met with God and asked, “God, balance my life in your priority order.”  What I am finding is that my day is productive.  The stress and anxiety that threatened to overwhelm me are being replaced with peace and joy.  I’m learning how to realistically plan my work and work my plan.

So, how do you explain all this to a four year old?  Ya, I don’t know either.  We will probably buy Aiden a Spiderman birthday gift and call it even. 

“While we are free to choose our actions, we are not free to choose the consequences of our actions.”
                                                                                               Stephen Covey

Leave a Reply

