Yes, Princesses Wear Bathrobes….

“I am overwhelmed with joy in the LORD my God! For he has dressed me with the clothing of salvation and draped me in a robe of righteousness. I am like a bridegroom in his wedding suit or a bride with her jewels.”                                                                                                                                 Isaiah 61:10

Okay, so the last few blogs have been centered around my Madi, but she is just so full of good material.  I was in the process of getting her out of the bathtub and all pajama’d up when she asked for her Dora robe.  It had recently made its appearance from the bin of winter clothes we had just opened.  As we were getting her bundled in her robe, she asked, “Mommy, do princesses wear bathrobes?”

It is not a mystery that our family is intrigued by royalty- especially princesses.  I am sure if you traced our family tree back far enough, you would find that we descended directly from royalty.  So why don’t I live in a palace?  It’s simple, really.  Someone had a moment of stubborness and got our ancestors kicked out (or overthrown).  It’s really the only logical explanation. 

As I smiled and pondered Madi’s question, it occurs to me that I am an heir to the most royal throne that ever existed.   By accepting Christ’s gift of grace, I am a co-heir to the inheritance that God has promised all who believe.   What challenges me further is the fact that I don’t always behave like I am royalty.   I sometimes over ride the still small voice that prompts me to take the high road and give in to my own selfish sinful nature.  Ponder over James 3 for a moment.  I hope you are as challenged as I am:

But if you are bitterly jealous and there is selfish ambition in your heart, don’t cover up the truth with boasting and lying. For jealousy and selfishness are not God’s kind of wisdom. Such things are earthly, unspiritual, and demonic. For wherever there is jealousy and selfish ambition, there you will find disorder and evil of every kind. ”           

At my core, there is a girl who loves competition.  Even more than competition, I like to come in first place.  When I play, I play to win.  Nothing more, nothing less.  So, when things don’t go my way, I can’t honestly tell you that I sit back and take it “humbly”.  Instead, I allow my emotions step in to take over.  But, the book of James tells us that as a Child of God, a co-heir to Christ, we have some specific ways of responding to tough situations.  The Royal response, if you will:

 “But the wisdom from above is first of all pure. It is also peace loving, gentle at all times, and willing to yield to others. It is full of mercy and good deeds. It shows no favoritism and is always sincere. And those who are peacemakers will plant seeds of peace and reap a harvest of righteousness.”

Yield to others!  I have lots of work to do.  As I looked at Madi, I told her, “Yes Baby, even Princesses wear bathrobes.”  In the end, God is not all that interested in what we attire ourselves in . Be it our Royal Best, or our Royal Blue Bathrobe, he is interested in the condition of our hearts.  How we present ourselves to the world he surrounds us with.  Truth be told, the image of him that reflects from our hearts is much more beautiful than any other thing we can attire ourselves in.

You should clothe yourselves instead with the beauty that comes from within, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is so precious to God”                              1 Peter 3:14

Leave a Reply

