Dating Clark Kent….

When I was getting ready this morning, the Phineas and Ferb superhero episode was playing the the background.  My beloved Isabella was getting upset with Phineas because he kept taking off on her right at the times she needed him.  A spin off of Superman if you will.  So what was the difference between Isabella and Lois Lane?  Isabella had not yet been swept off her feet by “The Beak”.  She desired nothing more than to spend her day with the ordinary Phineas having “the best day ever” with her secret crush.  On the other hand, Lois Lane had the hunky Superman saving her day on a regular basis.  She was so caught up in the adventure, that she missed seeing Clark Kent for who he really is.

I find myself coming to you with Lois Lane syndrome.  I am a self admitted adreniline junky.  I love a good challenge.  Find me a mountain to climb and I will meet you there with the supplies.  My problem today is simply this.  God hasn’t put any good mountains in front of me to climb as of late.  And I am a little bored in my day to day life.  See, I have this little voice inside of me that says I am above living the “Ordinary life”.  I wake up every morning with the belief that God put me here for an extraordinary purpose.   Yet everyday, I simply go through the motions of getting up, getting the kids out the door, going to work, coming home, etc, etc, etc. If I had to name this season of my life, I would call it Clark Kent.  Normal, ordinary and boring. 

God has been faithful to meet me everyday in this challenge.  He is convicting me to be extraordinary, even in the ordinary times.  Times when the water is calm and the horizon is clear.  To lean on the strength of His Spirit, even when I don’t feel like I need it.  The truth of the matter is this.  When there is no present struggle in my life, I quit trying.  I just fall into the motions, go with the flow. I question what my purpose truly is for being here. Life has to be more than this. And then he is faithful to show me the blessing in the little things.  Holding hands with my hubby.  Belly laughing over nothing with my kids.  Spending some much needed time with good friends. 

Today, I am going to take a lesson from my friend Isabella.  I am going to look at my ordinary and plan to have “the best day ever”.   Life never goes without its challenges for very long.  And sometimes, saving the world isn’t all its cracked up to be. 

“It is wise to stop wishing for things long enough to enjoy the fragrance of those flowering now!”
                                                                                    Patricia Gifford

Leave a Reply

