Insomnia Blogs: Security Blankets

Chloe and I attended the “Sleeping Beauty” Ballet at the Virginia Theater this past weekend in Champaign.  I have to say that this was my first ballet and even though I am familiar with the plot, I was thankful for the narrator they had on behalf of the kids.  In the classic fairy tale, Carabose’s invitation to the princesses dedication is over looked and Carabose shows up uninvited and super angry.   He places a spell on the baby saying she will prick her finger and die.  Luckily, the Lilac Fairy was in attendance at this amazing event and said, “No, she will prick her finger and fall asleep.”  Needless to say, the King was not taking any chances with the life of his daughter.  He immediately ordered all sharp objects to be removed from the kingdom so there would be no chance of his daughter getting pricked.  He took security in his decision and went on about his day.  Of course, we all know the rest of the story.  Carabose sweeps in to make sure the Princess pricks her finger and she sleeps for 100 years to be awakened by a handsome prince at least 85 years her junior, but who’s counting?

I found myself relating to the King in the story.  I find myself putting security in false places, only to be let down time and time again.  For example, my kids and their activities.  Of course I want them to be the best and most successful at everything they do, but the bottom line- that’s not realistic.  When they fail, it is not a direct reflection of my ability to be a Mom.  It is simply a character lesson they need to learn.   When my jeans don’t fit quite right and I find cellulite in new found territory, it does not matter.  It makes me no less beautiful to those who truly love me.   This past Mother’s Day weekend, my eyes were opened to the fact that sometimes, as a woman, a wife, a mom- I am just trying too hard to be perfect.  I need to let go and let God take the reigns.  I need to spend a little less time actively trying to appear that I have it all together and spend a little more time seeking guidance from my Beloved Creator. 

So this week, as I go about the busyness of our life, I need to ask myself, “What am I putting my security in?”   For where my treasure is, my heart will be also.  

Leave a Reply

